The Bane of My Existence

There’s this thing that my daughter wanted. It’s called an LOL DOLL. She’s been asking for this thing since last year and let me tell you, I am very annoyed with MGA entertainment. 😑

The picture above is an image of the unopened LOL doll that I was finally able to get my hands on. You see, everytime I went online to find the thing it would say: available in stores only. Fine. I can dig it. Companies are trying to get people back into their storefronts. They’re not spending money on overhead so we can all go binge shopping online at 3am in the morning right? Plus, eBay was kidding itself with those prices. So, in the store I went.

The problem is, is that when I got to the store and it wasn’t available there either, it made me feel like throwing a tantrum…but I didn’t. You know why? Cause I’m an adult and we can’t throw tantrums…right? Sigh. 

Anyways. So guess who asked for something and didn’t get it? My kid. Which I’m not too upset about cause I figured it builds character. Teaches her a lesson that sometimes you can’t get everything you ask for. I was also pretty sure that like all the other toys, games and puzzles this would too be forgotten soon.

Except that it wasn’t. When Christmas rolled around and it was time for her to make her list there it was. I made her take it off. No way, was I going to try to find something that was hard to find during an off season, during Christmas. Absolutely not. Oh she was unhappy, but I made the right decision you know why? 

Cause it was sold out! So, parent for the win LOL DOLL! Did she stop asking for it? Short answer: No. Long answer: Noooooooooooooooooo. No she did not. It has been a long year. And it just started. 😑

So we tried again. For her birthday and this time we were successful! We found them on toys r us. For $10 a pop, but there is a caveat you can only buy two. TWO! Not a problem. Except, there are over 45 of these things to collect and this momma is giving up at two. Also at 10 bucks a pop, rainbows and butterflies better fall out when she unwraps them. 😒

Sigh. Then I think about how all of this started and realize, that youtube started this. My daughter has 3 t.v days. Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Really only Friday and Sunday cause we try to go out all day on Saturday. Anyway, that includes electronics. So she sometimes will go on the computer and find games to play on her t.v days.

And sometimes, she wants to watch these videos of grown women playing with new toys. That’s where she found out about the LOL DOLLS…ever since then, those grown women are banned from my house. BANNED. Lol. I wish I was kidding. I really don’t want another LOL DOLL situation on my hands. And that’s why they are the bane of my existence. 

Author: AquarianMomma89

I have intense feelings, but you won't often find me expressing them. My writing is where I feel like I can breathe just a little bit. My goal right now is to write, My ultimate goal is to write any where in the world I want to. (Maybe starting with Norway!)