Romance. Is that too much to ask for?

Why is it that we often feel the need to justify our desire to read a romance novel? Is it because they represent to us standards that are impossible? Or is it because we are uncomfortable with the amount of…ehem… touching that can occur in these novels and thus are uncomfortable with people knowing?

Really, I’m curious. I’ve had to break myself out of the habit of blushing every time I went to the library and borrowed one if these books. I’ve had to stop myself from shifting uncomfortably when I made eye contact with a stranger while enjoying a romance.

So I’m not immune to it. I have often found myself saying bashfully to others “oh it’s a guilty pleasure. You know?”, but I started questioning this when I decided to become a romance writer. I take what I do seriously and I enjoy writing romances as much as I enjoy reading them.

It’s not a guilty pleasure at all and it sure isn’t because I can’t focus on other literature. I enjoy a good love story wrapped around a mystery. I enjoy getting to know two characters  who find themselves attracted to each other beyond reason. I enjoy being able to know that they will find each other in the end…even when it seems hopeless…

If you haven’t guessed yet, I am a hopeless romantic. We live in a world that will often ridicule that, but I have decided that we can all use a little romance. Plus, I am 100% down with all…touching scenes. I think they represent how as a couple it should be next to impossible to stay away from each other. On a lighter level it let’s  me know that we aren’t as stifled as we think we are. Haha.

Author: AquarianMomma89

I have intense feelings, but you won't often find me expressing them. My writing is where I feel like I can breathe just a little bit. My goal right now is to write, My ultimate goal is to write any where in the world I want to. (Maybe starting with Norway!)