Suddenly Free cont.

If you didn’t realize from the last post I came up with a tentative title for this. Right now I am calling it suddenly free. I usually don’t write in the present (I like writing romances that take place in the Victorian era. Call it a guilty pleasure), but for some reason these characters are walking around inside my head and they want out. I’m actually getting the urge to do this far more often than the novel I am currently writing (and have been writing for the last five years -__-). I’m trying not to question it though. I’m actually really interested in seeing  where this leads. Hope you enjoy this next part!

Matt had finished in the bathroom and was watching Julia from behind the wall as she locked the door.  Leaning forward  he shook his head,  silently kicking himself for causing the anxiety attack she was going to suffer through later. “Stupid Jerk” he breathed, as he ran his hand harshly down his face.

“Hey Julia,” He said aloud as he stepped through the doorway. She jumped as though being caught doing something wrong. He knew that she was ashamed of the new ritual that she had to perform. Pursing his lips, he looked at the kitchen quickly so that she wouldn’t know he had seen. “I’m really sorry about that, I left earlier for work in a hurry…I thought I had everything.”  He walked over to the kitchen, moving slowly, pretending that her reaction hadn’t been a big deal. Opening the fridge he changed the topic “Are you hungry? I was going to cook this ravioli recipe that I got from the work the other day.” He glanced over to were she stood silently, watching him warily. As though she expected him to turn into her attacker.

Julia was a beautiful girl, she had long dark brown hair that she kept up in a sloppy bun, her face was heart shaped with round cheeks. She had large, almond shaped, hazel eyes that were framed by long black eyelashes.  She had a wide mouth with full lips that had a natural pout. She was slim and taller than him by almost a foot and had curves that filled out even a t-shirt and jeans nicely.  She had golden yellow brown skin that made her stand out in a crowd. He stared at her as she leaned on her crutches, trying to determine if she would ever be the carefree girl she used to be.

“I’m not really hungry.” she mumbled as she continued to stare at him. He shrugged his shoulders and turned away from her. She looked so broken standing there in the middle of the living room. She was constantly guarded now and it broke his heart to see her this way. He grabbed a few items out of the fridge juggling them in his hands as he used his foot to close the door gently.

“So, what did you do today?” he asked as he unwrapped the ravioli dough he had made the night before. Her voice was soft as she stammered “I -I tried to go out the house today.” He paused in shock and then quickly recovered ” how far did you get?” he asked casually. Snorting, he heard the soft thud of her crutches as she began to pace, “not very far.” there was a pause. “I had the door open and I-I was standing in the d-doorway.” Matt looked at her and smiled encouragingly “Well, that was further than last time.” she slanted her eyes at him and scowled “Hardly, a reason to celebrate” she said frustrated.

Author: AquarianMomma89

I have intense feelings, but you won't often find me expressing them. My writing is where I feel like I can breathe just a little bit. My goal right now is to write, My ultimate goal is to write any where in the world I want to. (Maybe starting with Norway!)